Clothing Tips for Adventures in the Forest

Yes, I am talking about clothing on a nature blog. However, clothing choices can make all the difference on a camping trip.

Clothing is what will keep you warm on a camping trip. But there are ways to wear your clothing that can help you a lot.

One of the key things that I cannot stress enough is the rule of layers. You should wear layers, rather than one big, bulky coat, that way as you get hot while hiking or what not, you can simply take a shirt or two off. Maybe start with a cotton shirt, then a flannel shirt, then a jacket. Or, cotton shirt, sweater, jacket. Whatever suites your taste. But with a cotton shirt and a coat you take the coat off because you’re too hot, then you get too cold, put the coat back on, and the cycle continues. Or, you can wear layers, still have good insulation, and not have the weight and bulk of a coat. And I’ve noticed that I’m rarely too hot or two cold when I wear two cotton shirts and a jacket.

Also, for those tick-a-phobics (like me), wear light colored clothing. Tuck your pant legs into your socks, and tuck your shirt into your pants. If you wear gloves, tuck your sleeves into your gloves. That way, the tiny little blood-sucking demons are not only standing out as a black speck on your clothes, but they are also having to travel a whole lot longer of a way up to get to some skin. I personally don’t wear light clothing because they are easy to get dirty, but I do tuck my clothing when possible.

Next, if you plan on going in the woods during a rain (I have to say, it is a LOT of fun to do!) do not wear cotton clothing unless you plan on freezing to death. You would literally be warmer wearing no shirt at all then wearing a wet cotton shirt in the rain. At the most, wear very light, airy clothing.

Next, and this may just be personal preference, but for naturalist purposes, moccasins or tennis shoes (bare feet are best if you learn how to fox walk) are much better in the woods than boots. They are not only lighter on your feet, but you can usually have less impact on the landscape and you can be quieter. However, some of you military veterans may prefer good ol’ American boots.

Flannel is a GREAT insulator. Next time you go camping in the fall or winter, get in your sleeping bag wearing as much flannel as you can. You will be shedding layers before you know it. I’ve heard wool is also extremely good survival clothing, but I haven’t used it very much. Feel free to do some experimentation.

So there are some general clothing tips to make your stay in the woods much more pleasurable.

Keep calm and track on!

3 thoughts on “Clothing Tips for Adventures in the Forest

  1. Evan, I’m still having problems leaving a comment to your posts, so I’m not sure you are getting them. This last post was so interesting. I was telling you that I only have 7 boys in my class this year, and I think they would enjoy your blog. Please let me know if I have permission to post your blog on my website. I don’t know if I can actually do that, but I needed to ask you before I begin the process. Id there is a problem with that, please that’s not a problem with me ok? Here’s my site, ask permission, and let me know either way, ok? Thanks Evan. Love Grandmommy

    Mrs. Haasenritter’s Heroes

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I’ve gotten this comment. I haven’t gotten anything besides the first one you posted me.Yes, you absolutely have permission to reblog my posts! If you could at least give them the link to my website though and tell them that they can follow my blog by entering their email on a box on the right hand side of the screen while in class or after school or in a newsletter or something. I can make everything a lot simpler for you to reblog my posts once I can get ahold of your laptop, but until then, at the bottom of each post there is a reblog button beneath the “wanna share this awesome page?” title. You should just be able to click that reblog button and post my posts on your blog. Just be sure you go into the actual post rather than just from the home screen. If you’re still having trouble just let me know and maybe when we see each other next, you can bring your laptop and I can show you how to work your blog effectively and what all to do…

      Like

Leave a Reply

